Aside

Draft for my assessment

Below is the draft for my assessment. I must say that backwards planning was really useful here and really helped me map where I want to go.

What is the context (especially year level)? Foundation year: Prep

What are the learning objectives? English curriculum

Literature: Retell familiar literary texts through performance, use of illustrations and images(ACELT1580)

Literacy: Construct texts using software including word processing programs(ACELY1654)

I believe that once I map out some of the activities with this unit of work i will also be able to  include a few more of the literacy areas in the curriculum to this list.

What are the assessment criteria you’ll use?

Formative
Observations during whole class, group and individual activities, Observational checklists. Using these to check students abilities.

Anecdotal records about students abilities to recall text.
Anecdotal records about student’s ICT capabilities.
Summative
Creation of an animal that is described in a sentence. Use of sentence requirements shown. Demonstrate understanding of these requirements. Use illustration to predict text.

Read this text to the class.